CVAD Alumni Highlights

The College of Visual Arts and Design enjoys the success of its alumni. Here you will find a few standouts and for everyone left off the list, please send us news of your career and how we may recognize your work as well. Send an email to

Year of Graduation: Name, Title, Work

2017: Isabel Lee-Rossen, M.A., Art History, manager, Visitor Experience, Nasher Sculpture Center, Dallas
2015: Mary Nangah, Ph.D., 2015, Art Education, a 2022 Carter Community Artist, Amon Carter Museum of American Art
2010: Megan Lockhart Motown, B.F.A. Studio Art, GIPHY Artist of the Year for 2019
2008: Shirin Askari, fashion designer and Project Runway contestant
2007: Victoria Bleakley-Stefos, B.F.A., Fashion Design, technical designer for fashion design label The Row
2007: Dana Tanamachi, graphic designer and chalk letterer, covers of O, HOW, and TIME magazines
2004: Anila Agha, artist who won the two top prizes at ArtPrize 2014, the international art competition held in Grand Rapids, Michigan
2003: Sunny Stafford, executive creative director, digital at Victoria’s Secret
2000: Elayne Rush, registrar for the DeKooning Foundation
1999: Erick Swenson, internationally recognized sculptor whose work was included in the 2004 Whitney Museum of American Art Biennial and at the Nasher Sculpture Center, Dallas, in 2012 
1997: Amy Lewis Hofland, M.A., Art Education, executive director, Crow Collection of Asian Art of The University of Texas at Dallas
1997: Heather Amuny Dey, creative director for the Nike Global Brand
1996: Dorothea "Dori" Drimalas, BFA, Communication Design, owner and founder of Hybrid Design, San Francisco
1995: Brian Fridge, video artist whose work was included in the 2005 Turin Triennial and the 2000 Whitney Museum of American Art Biennial 
1989: Andrea Karnes, chief curator, Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth
1983: Michael Faircloth, fashion designer to former First Lady Laura Bush
1981: Ron English | pop artist whose work has been used in presidential campaigns, billboards, album covers and “The Simpsons.”
1978: Jesús Moroles, (1950–2015) was the honoree of a 2008 National Medal of Arts, the highest honor given to artists by the President of the United States. Read more.
1976: Rhonda J. Smith, M.F.A., a practicing printmaker and professor of art at Shepherd University, Shepherdstown, W.V.
1973: Stephen Sills, principal of Stephen Sills Associates and included in Elle Décor’s A List of the Top 25 Designers

Amy Lewis Hofland, M.A., Art Education, executive director, Crow Collection of Asian Art




Note: Should you need a reasonable accommodation due to a disability to fully participate in a CVAD event, please contact the CVAD Dean's Office,, 940-565-4001. For voice access, dial 1-800-RELAYTX (735-2989). Please make the request as soon as possible to allow sufficient time to arrange the accommodation.

UNT is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, 11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, VA 20190-5248, phone: (703) 437-0700; fax: (703) 437-6312; email: In 2020, UNT achieved designation from the Department of Education as a Title III & Title V Minority-Serving Institution and as a Hispanic Serving Institution.